Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

East Asian Story Time

Japanese

2022-03-26 14:00:00 2022-03-26 14:30:00 America/Chicago East Asian Story Time Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium, Zoom

Saturday, March 26
2:00pm - 2:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-03-26 14:00:00 2022-03-26 14:30:00 America/Chicago East Asian Story Time Come listen to a bilingual story in Japanese and English! Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium, Zoom

Urbana Free Library

The Lewis Auditorium, Zoom

Come listen to a bilingual story in Japanese and English!

Bring your children to East Asian Story Time, and enjoy a Kamishibai telling of "The Bamboo Princess" (かぐや姫).  The story tells the tale of a childless bamboo cutter who finds an infant in a stalk of bamboo.

A popular form of street theater in the 1930s and post-war Japan, Kamishibai (紙芝居) or “paper play” is a set of illustrated boards or cards that tell a story. 

Can't make it in-person?  Register in advance to watch the program live on Zoom.

Co-sponsored by The Urbana Free Library and the Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies at the University of Illinois. You can attend in-person or by watching a live stream of the program on Zoom.  Register in advance to receive a link to watch the program online.

AGE GROUP: | Toddlers | Pre-Schoolers | Families |

EVENT TYPE: | Children |

TAGS: | Story Time |

Urbana Free Library

Phone: 217-367-4057

Hours
We're closed Sunday May 26 due to Sunday before Memorial Day
Mon, May 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 24 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, May 26 Closed
(Sunday before Memorial Day)

About the library

Conveniently located at the corner of Race and Green in downtown Urbana.

Upcoming events

Sat, May 25, 8:00am - 12:00pm
Market at the Square

Sat, May 25, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Urbana Free Library - Children's Area

Sun, May 26, All day
Urbana Free Library

Mon, May 27, All day
Urbana Free Library

Tue, May 28, 10:00am - 10:25am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, May 28, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, May 28, 6:00pm - 7:15pm
Crystal Lake Park - Firepit near the Anita Purves Nature Center

Wed, May 29, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, May 30, 10:00am - 10:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, May 30, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, May 30, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
St Matthew Lutheran Church - 2200 S. Philo Road

Fri, May 31, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sat, Jun 01, All day
Urbana Free Library - Children's Area

Sat, Jun 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sat, Jun 01, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Mon, Jun 03, 9:30am - 11:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 04, 10:00am - 10:25am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 04, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Urbana Free Library - Online

Canceled
Wed, Jun 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Urbana Free Library

Wed, Jun 05, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Wed, Jun 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Urbana Free Library - Busey-Mills Reading Room

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 10:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 06, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Fri, Jun 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sat, Jun 08, 9:30am - 12:00pm
Martens Center

Sat, Jun 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sun, Jun 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Spurlock Museum

Mon, Jun 10, 9:00am - 11:00am
Champaign Public Library

Mon, Jun 10, 9:30am - 11:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Mon, Jun 10, 9:30am - 11:30am
Urbana Free Library - Children's Area

Tue, Jun 11, 10:00am - 10:25am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 11, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 11, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Urbana Free Library - Online

Wed, Jun 12, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Brookdale Senior Living

Wed, Jun 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Wed, Jun 12, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 13, 10:00am - 10:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 13, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Fri, Jun 14, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Fri, Jun 14, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sat, Jun 15, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Urbana Free Library - Busey-Mills Reading Room,MacFarlane-Hood Reading Room

Sun, Jun 16, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Crystal Lake Park

Mon, Jun 17, 9:30am - 11:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:25am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 18, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 8:30pm
Urbana Free Library - MacFarlane-Hood Reading Room

Wed, Jun 19, All day
Urbana Free Library

Thu, Jun 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 20, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Thu, Jun 20, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium

Sat, Jun 22, 8:00am - 12:00pm
Market at the Square

Sat, Jun 22, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
King Park, Urbana, IL

Sun, Jun 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Urbana Free Library - Cherry Alley

Mon, Jun 24, 9:30am - 11:30am
Urbana Free Library - The Lewis Auditorium